Diana Koelliker, M.D., was named the EMS Physician of the Year by the Western Regional EMS and Trauma Advisory Council (WRETAC). Dr. Koelliker is the medical director of Emergency and Trauma Services at Telluride Regional Medical Center, and also serves as medical director for the Telluride Fire Protection District, Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Division.

The WRETAC promotes emergency medical and trauma care for patients in a large area of Western Colorado, including the counties of Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, and San Miguel. It is one of eleven regional EMS and Trauma Advisory Councils (RETAC)s in Colorado designated by state statute and funded with Highway User’s Tax Funds (HUTF).

“Our entire team joins me in congratulating Dr. Koelliker on this impressive recognition,” said Beverly Schulman, interim CEO at Telluride Regional Medical Center. “We are honored to work alongside her, and grateful to have someone with her compassion, talent and dedication leading our emergency department.”

In their letters of nomination for the award, Dr. Koelliker’s peers pointed to her innovation in addressing the unique challenges of emergency response in rural communities, her willingness to provide mentorship to her colleagues, and her ability to work collaboratively across agencies to benefit residents in the counties the WRETAC serves.

Dr. Koelliker is a graduate of Wake Forest University and the Medical College of Georgia. She has been providing emergency care at Telluride Regional Medical Center since 2005.